Packer Football is BACK!

The Packers kick of their 2014 football season and I couldn’t be more excited.  I just can’t wait to get a look at Rodgers and Lacy, Peppers and Mathews and the reworked defense.  Capers has to prove it to me, but perhaps Mike McCarthy’s insistence that Dom focus on simplifying his schemes and better utilizing his talent will kick him back into “new team mode”, where he has had most of his success.

I really expect to see a tough, competitive football game, similar to the Saints @ Packers game that kicked off the 2011 season. 

There are a lot of similarities to that game. The Packers were the team that just won a Super Bowl and largely because of their youth a lot of people were thinking dynasty or at least a repeat.  The Saints were a former Super Bowl champ with a devastating offense, but a disappointing defense from the season prior.  That 2011 game ended up being a track meet that was won by the defending champs in a very entertaining shootout.  

I don’t expect this game to be a shootout, but I am hoping that the Packers can bring the same type of fire into the Seahawks’ stadium that the Saints brought into Lambeau.

As far as a prediction, I must admit that I once again expect the defending champs, in this case Seahawks, to come out with a win.  I fear the emotions and intensity of this banner raising season opener will just be too much for the Packers to overcome.   Prediction: Seahawks 27-20.  I hope I’m wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

